

PRESS RELEASE

Second Quarter 2023 PSGC Updates: Correction of the Names of One Municipality and 35 Barangays

Date of Release: 14 August 2023

Reference No. 2023-246

During the second quarter, the names of one municipality and 35 barangays in the Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) masterlist were corrected based on the recommendations of the interagency Technical Working Group on Geographic Code (TWGGC) as follows:

	Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
1.	Municipality of Leon T. Postigo , Zamboanga del Norte	Bacungan	Republic Act No. 6830 dated 30 December 1989
2.	Barangay Alimbo Baybay , Municipality of Nabas, Aklan	Alimbo- Baybay	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 15 May 2023
3.	Barangay Lumboyan , Municipality of Barbaza, Antique	Lombuyan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 22 May 2023
4.	Barangay Centro Ilauod , Municipality of Bugasong, Antique	Centro Ilawod	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 May 2023
5.	Barangay Piapi I , Municipality of Hamtic, Antique	Piape I	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 09 May 2023
6.	Barangay Piapi II , Municipality of Hamtic, Antique	Piape II	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 09 May 2023
7.	Barangay Piapi III , Municipality of Hamtic, Antique	Piape III	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 09 May 2023
8.	Barangay Tig-ohot , Municipality of Sibalom, Antique	Tig-Ohot	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 May 2023

Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
9. Barangay Pis-anan , Municipality of Sibalom, Antique	Pis-Anan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 May 2023
10. Barangay Bululacao , Municipality of Sibalom, Antique	Bulalacao	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 May 2023
11. Barangay Sta. Justa , Municipality of Tibiao, Antique	Santa Justa	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 18 May 2023
12. Barangay Sto. Rosario , Municipality of Tibiao, Antique	Santo Rosario	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 18 May 2023
13. Barangay Sta. Ana , Municipality of Tibiao, Antique	Santa Ana	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 18 May 2023
14. Barangay Ballescas , Municipality of Tobias Fornier Antique	Balloscas	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 May 2023
15. Barangay Samalague , Municipality of Tobias Fornier Antique	Salamague	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 May 2023
16. Barangay Sto. Tomas , Municipality of Tobias Fornier Antique	Santo Tomas	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 11 May 2023
17. Barangay Bianoan , Municipality of Casiguran, Aurora	Bianuan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 30 March 2023
18. Barangay Telapatio , Municipality of San Ildefonso, Bulacan	Telepatio	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 05 May 2023
19. Barangay Jurisdiccion , Municipality of Alcala, Cagayan	Jurisdiction	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 16 December 2021
20. Barangay Rizalina , Municipality of Aurora, Isabela	Rizaluna	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 27 June 2023
21. Barangay Dalig Kalinga , Municipality of Aurora, Isabela	Dalig-Kalinga	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 27 June 2023



Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
22. Barangay Calaocan , Municipality of Delfin Albano, Isabela	Caloocan	Certification signed by Acting- Municipal Mayor dated 07 June 2023
23. Barangay Sto. Rosario , Municipality of Delfin Albano, Isabela	Santo Rosario	Certification signed by Acting- Municipal Mayor dated 07 June 2023
24. Barangay Pungpongan , Municipality of Jones, Isabela	Pongpongan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 20 June 2023
25. Barangay Eleanor , Municipality of Maconacon, Isabela	Eleonor	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 25 May 2023
26. Barangay Didaddungan , Municipality of Palanan, Isabela	Diddadungan	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 03 June 2023
27. Barangay Sto. Domingo , Municipality of Quirino, Isabela	Santa Domingo	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 03 July 2023
28. Barangay Sta. Catalina , Municipality of Quirino, Isabela	Santa Catalina	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 03 July 2023
29. Barangay Sta. Cruz , Municipality of San Manuel, Isabela	Santa Cruz	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 13 June 2023
30. Barangay Sto. Niño , Municipality of Tumauini, Isabela	Santo Niño	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 June 2023
31. Barangay Sta. Catalina , Municipality of Tumauini, Isabela	Santa Catalina	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 June 2023
32. Barangay Sta. Visitacion , Municipality of Tumauini Isabela	Santa Visitacion	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 23 June 2023
33. Barangay Nappaccu Grande , Municipality of Reina Mercedes, Isabela	Napaccu Grande	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 05 July 2023
34. Barangay Nappaccu Pequeño , Municipality of Reina Mercedes, Isabela	Napaccu Pequeño	Certification signed by Municipal Mayor dated 05 July 2023



Correct name	Old name	Legal Basis
35. Barangay Sallucong,	Salucong	Certification signed by
Municipality of Reina		Municipal Mayor dated
Mercedes, Isabela		05 July 2023
36. Barangay Matayuncab,	Matayumcab	Certification signed by
Municipality of Gerona, Tarlac		Municipal Mayor dated
		14 April 2023

Notwithstanding these updates in the PSGC, the total number of local government units remained the same as shown in the table below:

Geographic-level	Total Number (as of 30 June 2023)		
Region	17		
Province	82		
City	148		
Municipality	1,486		
Barangay	42,027		

The updated online PSGC database and masterlist can be accessed at https://psa.gov.ph/classification/psgc/.

The compilation and updating of the PSGC is a collaborative effort of the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) and its interagency TWGGC composed of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Commission on Elections (COMELEC), National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA), and the Land Management Bureau (LMB).

For further inquiries, you may contact the **Statistical Classifications Division** of the **Standards Service** with telefax number **(02) 8376-1867** and email address **scd.staff@psa.gov.ph**.

CLAIRE DENNIS S. MAPA, PhD

Undersecretary

National Statistician and Civil Registrar General

MEPE/EMA/VJFA/EVP